Are We Teaching School or Teaching Kids?

I volunteer in a classroom of second graders and today I was baffled as I watched some students breeze through an activity while other students struggled to even grasp the concept of the same activity. In traditional classrooms settings the students do the same activities and are assessed in the same way, widening the gap in student performance due to their individual aptitudes for different types of work and learning.

I quoted John Dewey in my last post to say that education was a process and lifestyle more than an end goal. I discussed how education is a model to prepare students for higher education. Often schools fail to tread education as a learning process and lifestyle, but more of a final destination. This past week, I’ve read a few of the works of famous American philosopher and education reformer John Dewey. His progressive ideas and suggestions, especially in “My Pedagogic Creed” stirred my thoughts on our education system.

John Dewey describes school as a social institution that should serve as a community to foster relationships and prepare students for their future. Although the future can’t be predicted, students can be empowered to use their own abilities to handle whatever society brings in the future. This requires society to take into account that students are not all strong in the same areas. Howard Gardner proposed seven types of intelligence, so how can we teach students in one way? Obviously some of these intelligences, such as musical or bodily-kinesthetic, are less useful in commonplace occupations but should still be acknowledged, especially while the child is young. Ideal education would be modeled specifically to the individual and children should be free to explore their interests as well as learn in a hands-on, experimental way. As Dewey explains in, “The Child and the Curriculum”, the subject matter must intervene with the children’s own experiences.” While math, science, history, and other core subjects are extremely important, young children often can’t learn unless the material is made interactive and applicable to their own lives.

The teachers’ role also would be different in this kind of setting. They would be working as a guide for the child’s learning, rather than a lecturer or controller. Kids do not have the same capacity for processing and understanding that adults have, yet so often, they are taught in the same way. “Lecturing” or talking at students starts at a young age and causes many students to be uninterested and unengaged in their schooling. Kids, however, need to be participating in their education and be taught according to their own abilities and interests.

For my early elementary school, I attended a Montessori school that I feel modeled many of Dewey’s core ideals. We worked at our own pace and decided what activities we would do when. When I was old enough, I worked with my teachers to create my own schedule for the week. Almost every lesson we did was a hands-on activity and I worked side by side my peers in a community setting. With so much freedom I sometimes wonder how I left Montessori school and was still at the same academic level as most of my peers who did not attend this same kind of school. I think the very important goals of Dewey were similar to Maria Montessori’s: the social aspect of a child’s education should be promoted in addition to the academic. Interpersonal and intrapersonal intelligence are often neglected or undermined in the system of education, even though they play into all students’ everyday life in their schooling and their future. Whether the student excels relationally, mathematically, artistically, or linguistically, they should be brought up at an early age to explore and cultivate their strengths as well as receiving a truly well rounded education.

Hailey

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Are We Teaching School or Teaching Kids?

  1. karacap says:

    I found your blog post to be very thought provoking Hailey. In the first paragraph you were talking about your second graders and I remember being in their place. I was always either the first one to grasp a topic or the last and it was extremely frustrating either way. I agree that schools should start focusing on the individual child instead of the “one-size-fits-all” mentality we currently have. While reading I was trying to think of ways in which public school could implement curriculums that could truly benefit all students. Nothing I can imagine would be beneficially similar to all students and no matter there would be a group of students left out. Do you have any suggestions for this? In your opinion would it be better if more public schools adopted curriculums similar to that of Montessori schools?

    Thanks for posting!
    -Kara

    Like

  2. cerouse2015 says:

    This blog post was very interesting and thought provoking to me. A few years ago I worked at a summer camp and a young boy began talking to me about his Montessori school and how much he loved it. He described the boredom he felt in his old school school which is similar to your description of the schooling system where teachers lecture at students and “causes many students to be uninterested and unengaged in their schooling.” He said that he was challenged in his new school and was learning so much more. I am also curious what your thoughts are on whether or not more public schools should adopted Montessori style curriculum. Also, do you see any downsides with the Montessori curriculum or areas for improvement where there could be an even more individualized focus? Thanks!

    Like

  3. leighahall says:

    You might be interested to know that while multiple intelligence has been pretty pervasive in schools, there is absolutely zero evidence to support it.

    https://www.psychologytoday.com/blog/unique-everybody-else/201311/the-illusory-theory-multiple-intelligences

    Like

  4. Debbie says:

    Haiely, I got this blog address from teachers.net. I presume your professor passed on the info.

    Your blog was well written. However, I must point out something. In the world of work, known as the real world, rarely will your boss allow you to finish a project at your own pace or set your own schedule. If you know of one, please let me know!

    Now, if school is to prepare individuals for “College and career readiness”, how would these methods, fun as they are, accomplish this? Something to think about.

    Like

  5. askamypart2 says:

    “They would be working as a guide for the child’s learning, rather than a lecturer or controller.” I loved this line, I found it to parallel with my own ideas that children should have more control in how they learn and how education should be more personalized in how it is presented. This idea is so opposite of what scripted curriculum is all about, with teacher control and lack of personalized education. Well done, I love this post.

    Like

Leave a Reply

